Contacts Portuguese French Audio version Home Contacts ARtv-live broadcasting Citizen post

Members of the A.R. and
Parliamentary Groups
Parliamentary Committees
Speeches and debates
Political Supervision
Parliamentary activity and
  the legislative procedure

International relations
European Affairs
State budget and public

Constitutional revisions
Journal of the Assembly of
  the  Republic
Management of the
Library, archives and
Parliamentary bookshop
A guided tour of São Bento
Young People's Parliament
AR tv

  Parliamentary Committees


The Portuguese Parliament has standing committees (specialised committees with permanent jurisdiction over specific matters, and which in principle exist in every legislature), and ad hoc committees (established for a limited period of time in order to perform a specific function, culminating in the presentation of a descriptive report on the committee’s work, which must include the conclusions to be drawn therefrom). 

Each committee may create subcommittees to look at specific matters that fall within the main committee’s overall areas of competence, although this does require prior authorisation by the President of the Assembly of the Republic, who will first consult the Conference of Parliamentary Committee Chairmen. Once authorisation has been received from the President of the Assembly, the subcommittee’s composition and scope are defined by the committee which created it; and at the end of its work, the subcommittee’s conclusions are also submitted to the parent committee. 

In addition to subcommittees, committees may also create working groups for specific, temporary purposes. These may be of a legislative nature or to follow up the work on a certain matter. 

Committees of inquiry are ad hoc committees bound by specific rules. Their mission is to scrutinise compliance with the Constitution and other laws, and to consider the acts of the Government and the Administration. In addition to complying with the special rules on their formation, duration and modus operandi, committees of inquiry enjoy the same investigative powers as the judicial authorities.