Contacts Portuguese French Audio version Home Contacts ARtv-live broadcasting Citizen post

Members of the A.R. and
Parliamentary Groups
Parliamentary Committees
Speeches and debates
Political Supervision
Parliamentary activity and
  the legislative procedure

International relations
European Affairs
State budget and public

Constitutional revisions
Journal of the Assembly of
  the  Republic
Management of the
Library, archives and
Parliamentary bookshop
A guided tour of São Bento
Young People's Parliament
AR tv

Biographical Data
Installation speech
Contact the President



Eduardo Ferro Rodrigues

Eduardo Ferro Rodrigues was born in Lisbon, on 3 November 1949.

He is married to Maria Filomena de Aguilar, with whom he has two children, João Luís de Aguilar Ferro Rodrigues and Rita Ferro Rodrigues.

He has a degree in Economics and is a Professor at the Higher Institute for Business and Labour Studies – University Institute of Lisbon (ISCTE).

President of the Parliamentary Group of the Socialist Party (2014-2015).

Vice-President of the Assembly of the Republic (2011-2014).

Ambassador of Portugal to OECD - Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (2005-2011).

Head of the delegation of the Assembly of the Republic to PACE - Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe (2004-2005).

Secretary-General of the Socialist Party (2002-2004).

Minister for Social Infrastructure (2001-2002).

Minister of Labour and Social Solidarity (1998-2001).

Minister of Solidarity and Social Security (1995-1998).

Vice-President of the Parliamentary Group of the Socialist Party (1993-1995).

Spokesman for the Socialist Party at the Committee on Economy and Finance (1991-1993).

Visiting Assistant Professor at ISCTE (1987-1991).

Member of the Shadow Cabinet of Vítor Constâncio (1986-1987).

Assistant Lecturer at ISCTE (1973-1986).

Senior official of the Studies Bureau for Industrial Economy of the Ministry of Industry and Technology (1971-1986).

Grand Cross of the Order of May for Merit of the Republic of Argentina (18 June 2003).